DJA 2017 Eligibility & Rules

Have a question about the content of this page? Contact us at

Who is eligible for an award?

The Data Journalism Awards competition celebrates outstanding work in the field of data journalism worldwide. It can be won by any media organisation, big or small.

The awards are given to examples of data-driven investigations, data-driven applications and storytelling projects that use data visualisation, to cover topics relevant to the general public and aiming at having an impact on society.

Media companies, non-profit organisations and freelancers or individuals are all eligible for the Data Journalism Awards. Works produced by individuals or teams of staffers from media companies and non-profit organisations, as well as freelancers or individuals are all eligible for entry.

Works that are the result of a collaboration between organisations may also be submitted. Works produced by staffers or freelancers collaborating with government agencies, business or trade organisations with a stake (financial or of other nature) in the issue at hand are not eligible. In other words, the awards are not given to business data visualisations or projects produced for branding purposes.

Works that include significant input from the members of the jury will not be accepted for entry into the competition.

The DJA administrators have the final authority to determine whether an entry is eligible or not.

Competition Rules

Entries could be submitted until 10 April 2017 at 23:59 GMT. All work must have been published or aired between 14 April 2016 and 10 April 2017.

The finalists shortlisted for awards will be announced in May 2017, and the winning projects will be revealed at the DJA 2017 Ceremony in Vienna on 22 June 2017, during the seventh annual GEN Summit.

All submission forms must be filled in English. Entries in languages other than English will be accepted provided that they are accompanied by thorough explanations of the work in English and a translation if possible. Words included in graphics, databases and web applications must also be translated. Radio material must be transcribed in English and video material must contain English subtitles. If a work originally published in a language other than English passes the pre-jury selection stage, applicants may be asked to provide additional information and translations.

Entries are allowed to have been published on any other media platform: online, radio, audio, broadcast, print or a combination of platforms.

Entries are allowed to be an individual work or a series of works.

There is no limit to the amount of entries that can be submitted by one applicant. During the pre-selection, the jury will choose which category is most adequate for your submission, although you will be given the opportunity to choose your preferred category in the application form.

There are no submission fees.

See all the DJA 2017 projects now!

All of the entries to this year's competition are compiled on the GEN Community. You can see them all by clicking on the button below.

Click Here